Collaboration in Sigma
Sigma is built for collaboration in editing, exploring, and sharing with others, with Sigma you can get everyone involved in discovering data insights in a few clicks.
How do users work together in Sigma?
Collaboration in Sigma happens in multiple ways; shared content, scheduled delivery, and in real time, which we call Live Edit. Many customers still share BI information via email, slides, or spreadsheets, and that presents many challenges. Data may be stale, incorrect, or shared outside the organization inappropriately. Sigma solves these challenges and more by allowing users to work together in a single, governed place.
Sigma supports Role-Based Access Control (RBAC), so that you can decide who is permitted to perform specific tasks, in this case, share content. Users who create content can share with the organization, teams, or individual people.
How do I share content?
Collaboration can happen in a few different ways, designed to suit your needs:
Sharing Content Directly:
Content is initially available only to its creator. Access for each Sigma document can be shared, modified or revoked by either the individual document’s owner or an organization Admin. Content can be shared so that it is available as “view-only,” or can be made editable so that others can make changes.
Scheduled Delivery of Content
Published content can be scheduled for automated delivery in several different ways.
Live Edit (in real time):
Live edit allows your team to collaborate on workbook drafts in real time, with all editors sharing one live draft, using their own browsers independently. This allows you to see and contribute to other people’s drafted changes before they are published, with them watching you work in real time.
How can we control who can make changes to content?
Sigma features three workbook modes — View, Explore, and Edit — that provide different levels of access and interactions within a workbook. Each mode is designed to help you perform specific tasks depending on your objectives and permissions:
Can we really collaborate in real time?
Absolutely! Sigma calls real-time collaboration “Live Edit.” Typically, users play the back-and-forth game trying to build exactly what they need. Live Edit allows users to edit together in Sigma. See exactly what you’ll get, the data you’ll use, and make changes instantly. Together.
Can I have some content for myself?
Yes, each user has their own “My Documents” folder for their own, private content.
Can we share folders?
Yes. Sigma has a feature called Workspaces, which allows folders and documents to be compartmentalized, categorized, and easily shared with the correct people. They can be shared amongst users and teams via permissions.
Can we add comments to content so others can see them?
Comments can be added that reference specific pieces of content and you can tag a user so that they will be made aware of the issue:
Where can I learn more about Sigma features and use cases?
Our online documentation is a great way to get high-level information on product features along with as much fine detail as you want.
Sigma QuickStarts provide “step-by-step” guides to using Sigma, exploring specific features and use-cases.